مراجعة DermLite DL5 Dermatoscope

كان الكاتب من أوائل الذين اعتمدوا DermLite DL3 ، بعد أن اشترى أحد الطرازات الأولى التي وصلت إلى نيوزيلندا. تعد القدرة على التبديل بين تنظير الجلد المستقطب وغير المستقطب تقدمًا كبيرًا وأكثر فائدة ، كما تمت مناقشته في مقالة سابقة.

عندما قدمت DermLite DL4 ، لم يكن الكاتب مقتنعًا ، وقرر التمسك بـ DL3 ، وشراء نموذجًا لاحقًا عندما نفد المفتاح الموجود في الأول. الميزة الرئيسية المضافة كانت "تعزيز الصباغ" ، وهي مجموعة من المصابيح البرتقالية التي تبرز الصبغة.

قدمت DermLite الآن DL5 ، مع العديد من التحسينات والميزات الجديدة. من حيث الفائدة (رأيي) ، هذه هي:

  1. مجال رؤية أوسع. يبلغ قطر لوحة الواجهة DL3 30 ملم ، و DL5 40 ملم. بالنسبة لمعظم مناطق الجسم ، تعد هذه إضافة كبيرة ، خاصة عند فحص الآفات الكبيرة مثل النمشة الخبيثة المنتشرة. الجانب السلبي هو صعوبة أكبر قليلاً في التنظير الجلدي بالتماس عند التقعر. ومع ذلك ، يحتوي DL5 على شعلة ساطعة مدمجة لفحص عدم التلامس لمثل هذه الآفات ، وهناك لوحة تلامس صغيرة 10 مم متوفرة كإضافة اختيارية.
  2. مؤشر مستوى البطارية. 4 مصابيح LED صغيرة تشير إلى مقدار الشحن المتبقي. تتقلب السطوع عند شحن البطارية. هذه ميزة مفيدة ، لتجنب الإحراج عند نفاد طاقة DL3 في منتصف الطريق من خلال فحص الجلد. تبلغ سعة بطارية DL5 حوالي ضعف سعة بطارية DL3.
  3. زر تشغيل-إيقاف محسّن مقارنة بـ DL3. يتحكم هذا الزر أيضًا في وضع الاستقطاب.
  4. سطوع متغير. هناك 9 إعدادات سطوع مختلفة ، ويتذكر الجهاز الإعداد عند إيقاف تشغيله وإعادة تشغيله مرة أخرى.
  5. استقطاب متغير. بالإضافة إلى القدرة على التبديل بين الإعدادات المستقطبة وغير المستقطبة (مثل DL3) ، هناك 9 إعدادات مختلفة ، من الاستقطاب إلى الاستقطاب غير المستقطب إلى الاستقطاب المتوازي. يعزز الأخير منظر الهياكل السطحية للغاية ويتطلب سائلًا ملامسًا.
  6. إعداد الأشعة فوق البنفسجية dermoscopic ، مما يوفر رؤية مكبرة 10x للهياكل التي تتألق. هذا لديه القدرة على استبدال ضوء Wood.
  7. شعلة كما هو مذكور أعلاه.
  8. تعزيز الصباغ ، مثل DL4.

باستخدام DL5

بدت أثقل قليلاً من DL3 ، لكن لوحظ على الفور أن المقبض كان أكثر راحة ، وبالنسبة لأصحاب اليد اليمنى ، كان زر التشغيل / الإيقاف / الاستقطاب أسهل في التشغيل. بدت البصريات أكثر وضوحًا ، وحسّن مجال الرؤية الأوسع العملية. يبدو أن إعداد الاستقطاب المتوازي يقلل من تصبغ الخلفية ويعزز رؤية الأوعية السطحية. يبدو أن استخدامه في الإعداد الثاني الأكثر سطوعًا هو الأفضل. لم تكن هناك فرصة لاستخدام وظيفة الأشعة فوق البنفسجية.

الجانب السلبي

بالنسبة لأصحاب اليد اليمنى ، يعد استخدام الزر الرئيسي أمرًا سهلاً ومريحًا باستخدام الإبهام. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة لليسار ، فهو أمر محرج. من الضروري ثني السبابة ، وتغيير القبضة. ربما يكون النموذج الأيسر ، مع عكس الأزرار ، فكرة جيدة.

النتيجة المالية

بحوالي 1000 دولار أغلى من DL3 ، فإن السؤال هو "هل يستحق التكلفة الإضافية؟" بالنسبة لأخصائي التنظير الجلدي أو طبيب سرطان الجلد المتفرغ أو طبيب الأمراض الجلدية ، أعتقد أن الإجابة هي نعم ؛ إنه استثمار مفيد. إذا كنت أقوم باستبدال DL3 الخاص بي ، فسأشتري بالتأكيد DL5 بدلاً من DL3 آخر ، على الرغم من أنني أعسر (لقد تكيفت بسرعة لاستخدامه في يدي اليمنى في موضوع الاختبار الخاص بي ، بنفس الطريقة التي قمت بها باستخدام الماوس ).

إعلان

تم تقديم النموذج التجريبي بواسطة Macquarie Medical. ليس للكاتب أي ارتباط مالي مع Macquarie أو DermLite.

الدكتور ك مونينجتون

لمزيد من المعلومات حول DermLite DL5 من فضلك انقر هنا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يمكنك استخدام التعليقات هذه HTML العلامات والصفات: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

حدد عملتك

Skip to main content
Uncategorized

DermLite DL5 Dermatoscope Review

By December 12, 2022July 6th, 2024No Comments

The writer was a very early adopter of the DermLite DL3, having purchased one of the very first models to reach New Zealand. The ability to toggle between polarised and non-polarised dermoscopy a significant advance and most useful, as discussed in an earlier article.

When DermLite introduced the DL4, the writer wasn’t convinced, deciding to stick with the DL3, purchasing a later model when the switch on the first one wore out. The main added feature was “pigment boost”, a set of orange LEDs which highlighted pigment.

DermLite have now introduced the DL5, with numerous enhancements and new features. In order of usefulness (my opinion), these are:

  1. A wider field of view. The faceplate of the DL3 is 30mm diameter, the DL5 is 40mm. For most areas of the body, this is a big plus, especially when examining larger lesions such as widespread lentigo maligna. The downside is a slightly greater difficulty with contact dermoscopy on concavities. However, the DL5 has a bright torch incorporated for non-contact examination of such lesions, and there is a 10mm small contact plate available as an optional extra.
  2. Battery level indicator.  4 tiny LEDs provide an indication of the amount of charge remaining. They fluctuate in brightness when the battery is being charged. This is a useful feature, avoiding the embarrassment when the DL3 runs out of power half-way through a skin check. The DL5 battery is about twice the capacity of that of the DL3.
  3. An improved on-off button compared to the DL3. This button also controls the polarisation mode.
  4. Variable brightness. There are 9 different brightness settings, and the device remembers the setting when it is switched off and back on again.
  5. Variable polarisation. In addition to being able to toggle between polarised and non-polarised settings (same as the DL3), there are 9 different settings, from polarised, through non-polarised to parallel polarisation. The last enhances the view of very superficial structures and requires contact fluid.
  6. A dermoscopic UV setting, providing a 10X magnified view of structures which fluoresce. This has the potential to replace the Wood’s light.
  7. A torch as mentioned above.
  8. Pigment boost, same as the DL4.

Using the DL5

It seemed slightly heavier than the DL3, but it was immediately noticeable that the handle was more comfortable and,  for right-handers, the on-off/polarisation button was easier to operate. The optics seemed just a fraction clearer, and the wider field of view improved the process. The parallel-polarisation setting appeared to reduce background pigmentation and enhance the visibility of surface vessels. Using it on the second brightest setting seemed to be best. There was not the opportunity to use the UV function.

The downside

For right handers, using the main button is easy and comfortable, using the thumb. However, for left-handers, it is awkward. It is necessary to bend the index finger, altering the grip. Perhaps a left-handed model, with the buttons reversed, would be a good idea.

The bottom line

At approximately $1000 more expensive than the DL3, the question is, “Is it worth the extra cost?” For the experienced dermoscopist, full-time skin cancer doctor or dermatologist, I think the answer is yes; it is a worthwhile investment. If I was replacing my DL3, I would certainly purchase a DL5 rather than another DL3, even though I am left-handed (I rapidly adapted to using it in my right hand on my test subject, in the same way I did with a mouse).

Declaration

The demo model was provided by Macquarie Medical. The writer has no financial association with either Macquarie or DermLite.

Dr K Monnington

For further information on the DermLite DL5 please click here

Select your currency